Gallery

Cocktail O’Clock

aa7fb7bbe087d1ffea4f39efe9306a49 (1)As a confirmed wine drinker it seems Singapore is not the best place to be. Not that the wine here isn’t good, oh no, it’s fine. But it’s so expensive. Also, in my experience it does have something in it that is bad for you – I think it’s called alcohol? The day after consuming wine in Singapore is particularly trying I find. Maybe it’s the heat, or the option of hawker food that has to be consumed immediately?

I don’t know. It’s just not good.

So, with this in mind, I thought I’d turn my attention elsewhere. To cocktails. Those lovely concoctions (what a great word that is!) of blended drinks that can pretty much cover anything from the cringingly named Sex On The Beach to the ever stylish Martini.

According to the Oxford English Dictionary the word cocktail (when related to drink) is defined as ‘an alcoholic drink consisting of a spirit or spirits mixed with other ingredients such as fruit juice or cream.’ Nowadays things have moved on and these ‘other ingredients’ can also include herbs, bacon, chocolate or eggs, to name but a few.

mohito-cocktailFor some, mixing your drinks is a normal night out (have you seen Geordie Shore?) But, for those of us with a more sophisticated palate (or those who are more poncy) going out for cocktails is a relatively new thing to do.

Before moving to Singapore, it was really only on holiday somewhere hot and sunny that I’d drink cocktails* (oh, yes, now I see, I now do live somewhere hot and sunny now – doh!)

Anyway, I digress. There seems to be a new cocktail bar opening up in Singapore every week at the moment and what makes it so interesting is that they really seem to know their stuff. Gone are the long lists of bizarrely named drinks with five or six ingredients. Instead the age of the bespoke cocktail has arrived. Now, you simply tell the waiter/ess what ‘base’ (alcohol) you like, what kind of flavour you want (fruity, sour, bitter, dry) and let their mixologist do the rest.

Obviously it’s a gamble – but one that I’ve found often pays off with a wonderfully flavoured drink that you’d never have tried otherwise. Sometimes it pays to be a bit adventurous and try something new, but you’ll soon get to know what you like and really don’t like.

lime-cocktail
So, with cocktails being such a big part of the night scene here in Singapore I thought I’d start trying out a few – just for research purposes and only for the good of you, my lovely readers of course.

Please let me know what did you think? Do you like the idea of bespoke cocktails? What’s been the best cocktail you’ve had so far? Comment after my posts and let me know.

In the mean time I’m off to try a lychee mojito…

Horndon mud slide anyone?

Horndon mud slide anyone?

* Actually, this is not strictly true. A few may have been drunk in a not so hot or sunny village in Essex. I have to give a shout out to the legendary Mr B who is, in fact, according to those in the know, a bit of whizz amateur cocktail maker. Many have succumbed to his charms and drunk down one too many of his delicious tasting – but wickedly potent – drinks only to wake up the next day wondering what’s hit them. Always ‘service with a smile.’

Mr B when you open up that bar I’m first on the guest list – but don’t forget the tea!

What do you think?

